# **Coweta County Board of Commissioners**

**Called Meeting/Regular Session** 



22 E Broad Street Newnan, GA 30263

www.coweta.ga.us

Shannon Zerangue 770.254.2601

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

6:00 PM

**Commission Chambers** 

~ Minutes ~

# COWETA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Call to Order

Attendee Name	Title	Status	Arrived
Bob Blackburn	District 3 - Chairman	Present	
John Reidelbach	District 4 - Vice Chairman	Present	
Paul Poole	District 1	Present	
Tim Lassetter	District 2	Absent	
Al Smith	District 5	Present	
Michael Fouts	County Administrator	Present	
Eddie Whitlock	Associate Administrator	Present	
Kelly Mickle	Assistant Administrator	Present	
Nathan Lee	Assistant County Attorney	Present	
Shannon Zerangue	County Clerk	Present	
Hans Wilson	Finance Director	Present	

The Honorable Board of Commissioners of Coweta County, Georgia met in Called Meeting/Regular Session on Wednesday, June 15, 2022, for the purposes of commencing renegotiations of the distribution of revenues from the local option sales tax (LOST) in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 48-8-89. Officials from the following municipalities were in attendance:

- City of Chattahoochee Hills
- City of Grantville
- Town of Moreland
- City of Newnan
- City of Palmetto
- City of Senoia
- Town of Sharpsburg
- Town of Turin

#### **Meeting Called to Order**

Chairman Blackburn called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

## Pledge of Allegiance

Chairman Blackburn led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Invocation

Invocation was given by Commissioner Smith.

#### Notification of Location of Rules

Chairman Blackburn explained that the rules governing the meeting could be found on the County's website as well as on the table located in the lobby outside the meeting room.

## **REGULAR SESSION**

1. 13124 Introduction of Elected Officials and Staff from the Municipalities

Chairman Blackburn asked each municipality to please introduce their representation and the following individuals were in attendance:

City of Chattahoochee Hills - City Manager Rob Rokovitz

**City of Grantville -** Mayor Doug Jewell and City Manager Al Grieshaber

City of Haralson - absent

Town of Moreland - Mayor Dick Ford

- **City of Newnan -** Mayor Keith Brady, Council Member Dustin Koritko, Council Member George Alexander, Council Member Paul Guillaume, Council Member Rhodes Shell, and City Manager Cleatus Phillips. Mayor Brady called the Council meeting of the City of Newnan to order.
- City of Palmetto Mayor Clark Boddie
- **City of Senoia -** Mayor Dub Pearman, Council Member Dale Reeder, Council Member Tracy Brady, Council Member Maurice Grover, City Administrator Harold Simmons. Mayor Pearman called the Council meeting of the City of Senoia to order.

Town of Sharpsburg - Mayor Blue Cole

Town of Turin - Mayor Alan Starr and Council Member Clarence Bolden

Commissioner-Elect Bill McKenzie (2<sup>nd</sup> District) was also in attendance.

## **RESULT:** ACCOMPLISHED

## 2. 13117 LOST Presentation

- County Administrator Fouts presented a short PowerPoint presentation regarding the 2022 Local Option Sales Tax (LOST) distribution renegotiation between the County and the local municipalities. Topics covered included the history of LOST, purpose of LOST, tax rollback for LOST, eligibility to receive LOST funds, when LOST renegotiations are necessary, renegotiation process, how LOST distributions are determined, eight (8) criteria that must be considered, LOST distribution history, 2023-2032 LOST projections, and renegotiation considerations.
- Administrator Fouts also outlined the next steps of the renegotiation process explaining that formal negotiations must conclude in 60 days (August 15, 2022). He suggested establishing a renegotiation committee consisting of municipal and county representatives. In closing, he explained that with the 2022 LOST negotiations there is no alternative to the "baseball arbitration" that was formerly in place so the tax will terminate if a new distribution certificate is not filed with the Department of Revenue by December 30, 2022. If an agreement is not reached, LOST will cease to be collected in the special district until a new referendum authorizing LOST is approved by the voters.
- The group collectively discussed renewing the LOST distribution utilizing the current formula, vagueness of the law in terms of the eight (8) criteria to be considered, the County's desire to update the formula for distribution, when the City of

Chattahoochee Hills might become eligible to receive LOST funds, a desire for a fair and equitable outcome for all, the elimination of the "baseball arbitration" formerly in place, the potential for LOST to terminate if no agreement can be reached, a desire to review more detailed financial data/metrics, and establishment of a committee to work through the renegotiation process.

It was the consensus of the group that the following individuals serve as a point of contact to establish a LOST renegotiation committee:

- County Administrator Michael Fouts
- City Manager Al Grieshaber, City of Grantville
- City Manager Cleatus Phillips, City of Newnan
- Mayor Clark Boddie, City of Palmetto
- Mayor Dub Pearman, City of Senoia
- Mayor Blue Cole, Town of Sharpsburg
- Mayor Alan Starr, Town of Turin

RESULT: ACCOMPLISHED

# ADJOURNMENT

Motion To: Adjourn

Mayor Brady officially adjourned the meeting of the City Council of Newnan.

Mayor Pearman officially adjourned the meeting of the City Council of Senoia.

The Board voted to adjourn the Called Meeting/Regular Session of the Coweta County Board of Commissioners.

<b>RESULT:</b>	APPROVED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER:	Bob Blackburn, District 3 - Chairman
SECONDER:	John Reidelbach, District 4 - Vice Chairman
AYES:	Bob Blackburn, John Reidelbach, Paul Poole, Al Smith
ABSENT:	Tim Lassetter